Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Department of Corrections

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Transgender Advisory Committee

Transgender Advisory Committee:

The Transgender Advisory Committee (TAC) ensures that the Department maintains effective linkages with the transgender community and its stakeholder organizations.  Members are appointed by the DOC Director, serve two-year terms, and meet four times a year as a body. Designated members of the TAC  also serve on the Department’s Transgender Housing Committee, which is charged with determining appropriate housing assignments for transgender inmates entering the jail.  The DOC policy on Gender Classification and Housing provides detailed information on the housing process [PDF].  The TAC meets on a quarterly basis—the fourth Tuesday of January, April, July and October from 2 to 3:30 pm at the Department’s headquarters location.

TAC Objectives:

  • Ensure open communication between DOC and the transgender community
  • Maintain a dialog on issues/problems facing the transgender community
  • Promote public awareness of the programs and services offered the transgender community

Current Members:

Community Representatives:

  • Earline Budd: DOC Transgender Liaison
  • Jeri Hughes: Transgender Advocate
  • Andy Bowen: Transgender Advocate/DC Trans Coalition
  • Hillary (Ari) Pomerantz: Transgender Advocate/DMV Trans Circulator

Executive Members:

  • Tom Faust, DOC Director
  • Sterling Washington, Executive Office of the Mayor/GLBT Affairs Director
  • Carolyn Cross, DOC Deputy Director for Operations

DOC Staff:

  • James Riddick, DOC Transgender Housing Committee Chair
  • Traci Outlaw, Health Services Representative/Transgender Housing Committee Member
  • Sylvia Lane, Government and Public Affairs Coordinator